向政府請願

民眾請願的權利明列在1776年7月4日的獨立選言中。在此之前,英國國王都無視人民的不斷請願。之後各新成立的州均有權利宣言, 如賓夕法尼亞州 (1776), 北卡羅來納州 (1776), 麻塞諸塞州 (1790) 以及新罕布什爾州 (1784), 其中包括保證和平集會與請願。達拉維爾州 (1776) 與馬利蘭州 (1776) 的權利宣言更明白保障請願的權利。 

請願的自由即是有權利要求政府做一件事或是不做一件事。請願的自由使你有權利寫信給你的民選代表, 請求通過你贊成的法律, 或是你可以提出全州性請願案以尋求通過新法。請願權利也協助政府官員瞭解民眾的想法以及希望政府採取的行動。

在請願權利之下, 民眾個人與團體可以尋求成立新法 (創制過程) 或推翻一項法律 (公民表決)。 過程規定視請願類別而定。本處負責辦理全縣, 學區以及特區的請願案登記。州務卿負責全州請願案。地方市書記則負責地方請願案。罷免請願的規定不同於創制與公投。

Petitioning Your Government

The right of petition was enumerated in the Declaration of Independence (July 4, 1776). Prior to this the citizens' repeated petitions to the King of England had been ignored. Later, the declarations of rights of the newly formed states of Pennsylvania (1776), North Carolina (1776), Massachusetts (1790), and New Hampshire (1784) included guarantees for peaceable assembly and petition. The Delaware Declaration of Rights (1776) and Maryland's Declaration of Rights (1776) expressly protected the right of petition. 

The freedom of petition is the right to ask your government to do something or to refrain from doing something. The freedom of petition gives you the right to write to your elected representatives and request him/her to work for the passage of laws you favor, or it could be as detailed as a statewide petition seeking the passage of new laws. The right of petition also helps government officials to know what citizens think and what actions they want the government to take.

Under the right of petition, individuals and groups of citizens may seek a new law (initiative process) or seek to overturn a law (referendum process). There are different requirements depending on the type of petition. Our office is the filing officer for countywide, school district and special district petitions. The Secretary of State is the filing office for statewide petitions while your local city clerk is the filing office for local petitions. Recall petitions have different requirements than initiative and referendum petitions.