最後的選票計算

選舉最後總歸為一小批的須計算選票。下面的例子詳細說明了最終計票的複雜和細節 - 這是至關重要的因為這是確保每一張選票被包含並計算在最的投票總數。

損壞的選票
損壞的選票是紙張選票,其中在某種程度上條碼已經被破壞阻礙了選票的掃描。例如撕裂、筆痕、異物(如食物污漬、污跡等),或者在條碼顏色褪落。這些選票必須手工複製到新的選票紙張。

未掃描的選票
未掃描的選票是選票在第一遍未能掃描。原因包括條碼或掃描儀卡紙的問題。這些選票必須於整批掃描選票(在大海撈針)之間找出。一旦找到,我們必須嘗試掃描選票第二次,如果仍然無法掃描,我們必須手動複製選票。

落單的選票
一個落單的選票是只送達的選票不完整的(例如,一個單頁的兩頁選票)。這些選票不會早期階段被掃描 - 我們必須等待,看看選民是否送達選票第二頁。在選舉日當晚,我們在所有掃描的選票中找出任何落單的選票。然後掃描落單的選票以便併入實際計算。

Final Ballots to Count

Elections always come down to small batches of ballots to count. The following examples details how complex and detailed the final ballot counting becomes - this is critical to ensure that every single ballot is accounted for and included in the final vote totals.

DAMAGED BALLOTS
Damaged ballots are paper ballots where the barcode has been compromised in some way, preventing the scanning of the ballot. Examples include a tear, pen marks, foreign material (such as food stains, smudges, etc.), or a fade in the barcode itself. Each of these ballots must be duplicated onto new ballot paper by hand.

UNSCANNED BALLOTS
A ballot unscanned is a ballot that did not scan on the first pass. Causes for this include issues in the barcode or a misfeed on a scanner. Each of these ballots must be located among the entire batch of scanned ballots (a needle in a haystack). Once found we must attempt to scan the ballot a second time and if it still will not scan we must duplicate it by hand.

ORPHAN BALLOTS
An orphan ballot is a ballot that is returned without the full ballot (for example, a single page of a two page ballot). These ballots are not scanned in the early stages of the ballot scanning - we must wait to see if the voter returns the second page. Following Election Night we identify any orphan ballots and locate them among all of the ballots scanned. The orphan is then scanned into the actual tally.