維持正確選民名單

選民名單基本認識
首先認識什麼是選民名單和它的用途,有助於了解維持正確選民名單所面臨的挑戰。當你登記投票時,你在表格上填寫的資料便被輸入本處資料庫。 這些資料證明你是合格選民, 有資格在全縣或地方選舉中參與投票。在美國你所提供的資料是基於「榮譽制度」, 意味著並沒有驗明公民身份。但是你是在偽證處罰下簽署表格, 也就是說如果你在選民登記表上提供不實資料,你可能會面臨刑事起訴。

維持正確選民名單所面臨的挑戰
Arrows絕大多數人搬家時會先通知銀行、汽車貸款公司、家人與朋友 – 甚至訂閱的雜誌社, 卻不會更改他們的選民登記。過去幾年來,我們一直專注於改進維持正確選民名單的過程。橙縣獨特之處在於另外使用可靠安全的資料來源  – 使我們能在選民想到通知我們之前便通知他們更新記錄。這項尖端服務使我們能確保選民名單儘可能正確無誤 - 即使選民沒有通知我們他們的行動。 由於這些努力,我們的選民名單屬於全國最正確的選民名單之一。

值得注意的重要一點是,僅管有這些努力,我們仍繼續「追蹤」選民住址而不僅由選民主動通知我們。

關於本處創新名單維護的詳盡資訊
Man with boxes自2006年起我們便開始改進維持正確選民名單的過程。使用第三方的安全資料使我們更能夠找到可能已經搬家的選民。這項資料的優點在於它是全國性資料,能夠找到車輛管理處 (DMV)、全國住址變更名單 (NCOA), 以及州務卿更新名單中沒有的選民。

在選舉中使用這獨一無二的方法之前,我們對資料進行了詳盡的測試。在我們的測試郵寄中, 使用第三方安全資料找到住址的選民回覆率高於僅郵寄至選民登記表住址的選民。我們並發現,許多以前至少缺席八次選舉的選民,在過去幾年來就已經搬遷了三至八次。

其他保持正確選民名單的努力
最早在主要選舉之前九十天, 我們便利用全國住址變更 (NCOA) 來更新我們的選民記錄。我們比較所有選民資料和全國住址變更資料庫, 然後依此更新選民住址。其中包括在橙縣境內搬遷的選民, 以及已遷出橙縣的選民。每位受影響的選民都會收到一份明信片確認。這項過程通常可更新超過 30,000 份選民記錄。但是,這份資料只有選民曾在郵局填寫住址變更卡才有用。

退回郵件
無法寄送的郵件(如郵寄選票)可用以更新選民登記資料庫。如果退回信件上有新住址, 我們便依此更新資料庫, 並且寄出明信片嘗試與選民聯繫。

車輛管理處 (DMV) 記錄
DMV logoDMV 每天提供住址更新資料,本處便即刻用來更新選民資料庫。請注意: DMV 更新資料只適用於橙縣登記選民。

遷出橙縣境外的選民
如果選民在其他縣登記投票, 州務卿辦公室會通知本處。本處收到通知便會取消這些選民登記。如果選民在另一縣重新登記, 外縣也會直接通知本處。

死亡選民
我們正努力加強註銷死亡選民以便更新資料庫。除了橙縣醫療照護機構(HCA) 與州務卿提供的記錄之外, 我們也會每天查閱地方訃文。此外,如果本處僅接獲民眾電話或電郵通知,我們也會調查選民死亡記錄。 我們利用社會安全死亡索引 (SSDI) 進行調查,  橙縣醫療照護機構則與本處合作確認亡者s。橙縣獨特的方式是使用第三方資料比較選民資料庫和社會安全死亡索引。 這項服務的優點是使用全國性與歷史資料。過去所欠缺的便是全國性資料。開啟這項服務後我們又多註銷了近 1,100 選民, 其中大部份沒有在其他更新過程中發現。

Maintaining an Accurate Voter List

Voter List Basics
Before understanding the challenges of maintaining an accurate voter list it is first helpful to know what a voter list is and how it is used. When you register to vote the information you entered on the form is entered into a database maintained by our office. This data identifies you as a qualified voter, eligible to vote in any countywide election or local election. In the United States the information you provide is based on the "honor system", which means proof of your citizenship is not verified. However, you sign the form under penalty of perjury, which means you could face criminal prosecution if you provided false information on your voter registration documents.

Challenges of Maintaining Accurate Voter Lists
ArrowsThe vast majority of individuals that move notify their banks, car lenders, family and friends – even magazine subscriptions before they change their voter registration. During the past few years we have focused on making improvements to the process of maintaining our voter registration list.  Unique to Orange County is our use of additional data from secure, highly reliable sources – allowing us to notify voters and update their records – long before they think about notifying us. This keeps us on the cutting edge of making sure the voter list is as accurate as possible - even if voters do not notify us of their movements. Because of these efforts we have one of the most accurate lists in the country.

It is important to note that despite these innovative efforts we continue to "chase" down voter addresses as opposed to voters proactively notifying our office.

Detailed Information on Our Innovative List Maintenance
Man with boxesSince 2006 we have made improvements to the process of the maintenance of the voter registration list. The use of secure third-party data improves our ability to find voters who have possibly moved. The advantage of this data is that it uses nationwide data, and can catch people not caught by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), National Change of Address (NCOA), and Secretary of State updates.

Prior to utilizing this one-of-a-kind method in elections we conducted a detailed test of the data. In our test mailing, we had a better response from the voters who had been provided an address through secure third-party data than we had from mailing to voters using their address on the voter registration list. We also found a large group of voters who had not voted in at least eight elections moved between three and eight times in just a few years.

Additional Proactive Efforts to Keep Our Voter List Accurate
No more than 90 days before a major election, we update our voter records using National Change of Address (NCOA) records. The entire voter list is compared to the National Change of Address database, and voters' addresses are updated accordingly. This includes voters who have moved within Orange County, as well as outside of Orange County. A postcard is sent to each affected voter for verification. This process will typically update over 30,000 voter records. This data is only useful if the voter fills out a change of address card through the post office.

Returned Mail
Undeliverable mail, such as vote-by-mail ballots, is used to update the voter registration database. If a new address is provided, our database is updated accordingly, and a postcard is sent to the new address in an attempt to contact the voter.

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Records
DMV logoAddress updates are provided daily by the DMV, and immediately applied by our office. Please note that the voter must be a registered voter in Orange County for DMV changes to apply.

Voters Moving Out of Orange County
Our office is notified by the Secretary of State's office of voters who have re-registered in other counties. These registrations are cancelled by our office upon notification. We are also notified directly by other counties if a voter has re-registered.

Deceased Voters
We are increasing our efforts with canceling deceased voters. In addition to the records provided by the Orange County Health Care Agency (HCA) and the Secretary of State, we also check local obituaries on a daily basis. In addition we research the death record of a voter if someone notifies our office, even if it is simply by phone or email. We utilize the Social Security Death Index (SSDI) to conduct this research, and HCA works with our office to verify deceased individuals. Unique to Orange County we also use third-party data that compares a list of voters on our database to the SSDI. The unique advantage of this service is that it uses nationwide and historical data. The nationwide data component is something that has been missing in the past. During our launch of this service we canceled nearly 1,100 additional voters using this process, most of which were not caught using the other processes.